I don’t know what I don’t know

Karen Hodkinson
The Daily Journey
Published in
1 min readJun 16, 2016
I don’t know.

“I don’t know what I don’t know.” This philosophy has served me well.

Using this as the starting point, I have discovered about lots of different things I wouldn’t have otherwise. You see, if I don’t know what I don’t know, then I would never know the right question to ask. Let alone have the right answer.

All you have to do is ask one question and answers would come. People love to share what they know and talk about their experiences. From that one question, conversations would splinter off in other directions, sparking more questions. By the end of an hour, you are a whole lot smarter than before.

Without this “I don’t know what I don’t know” philosophy, questions I ask are confined to what I know. Venturing beyond my sphere of knowledge is impossible for I am comfortable living in the bubble of all the things that I know and like.

--

--

Karen Hodkinson
The Daily Journey

Content marketer by day, writer by night + a mum every single day | Editorial Director of @Sothebys | Ex Managing Editor of @i_D + @TatlerUK.