A SMALL CHOICE…

Matthew Spira
The Daily Kerfuffle
2 min readMay 19, 2024

--

…with profound consequences.

Author with Luna

I had a medical emergency at the beginning of March. Not going to go into the gory details, but enough that I did actively reflect on my mortality. I’m not and have never been afraid to die, but I’d like to believe my journey isn’t finished yet.

The small choice I made was to start migrating my (inactive) poetry collection over to Twitter. This introduced me to the emerging AI tools out there, which did honestly pique my interest in their potential. Not, to be clear, to do any of the writing of my poetry — I solemnly attest that all my poems are 100% human-generated, 99.9% by me. (I did quote a public domain Letter to the Editor from 1771 in a poem.)

The response so far has been positive. In the process of copying poems from Medium, I started to look around for the first time in a few years and liked what I saw. So, I’ve decided to become active on Medium again and publish both new poetry and video presentations of older poetry.

The presentations generally include a Recitation, an Analysis/Interpretation, an Author’s Commentary, and Art. I’ve thrown in a few other things here and there, but this is the core of my project.

Becoming active on Medium again led me to join Mastodon and I am enjoying getting introduced to the community there.

I’m off to enjoy this lovely Sunday here in Madison, Wisconsin. I’m going to take a nice, long, walk through the Arboretum and ponder how small choices become larger ones.

Peace!

--

--

Matthew Spira
The Daily Kerfuffle

Middle-aged dude. Combat veteran & single father. Eclectic career. Poet.