6 Heartwarming Stories in Olympic Snowboarding that have Nothing to do with Shaun White.

Elephant Journal
The Daily Mindful
Published in
5 min readFeb 7, 2022

--

NBC OLYMPICS/TWITTER SCREENSHOT

Almost everyone is talking about Shaun White these days, but I feel there are six stories of snowboarders at the Olympics who deserve more attention.

Nothing against Shaun White. He is a legend. He is the most well-known snowboarder of all time. But if you ask anyone involved in competitive snowboarding, you might find folks who think that he is overrated. I am one of them.

There is no doubt that White is an incredible athlete, but there are many who feel that his lone wolf approach is not what snowboarding is all about. It’s a one-man show, and I am not a fan of that.

I am not sure if it was necessary to give him a wildcard enabling him to participate in these games without officially qualifying. But he wanted to compete one last time, and we will see what happens.

If he wins, I will take back everything I said, but I would have rather seen a young talent than a 35-year-old man.

Here are six heartwarming stories that have nothing to do with Shaun White:

1. Ayumo Hirano

--

--

Elephant Journal
The Daily Mindful

Elephant is an independent, mindful media dedicated to sharing the good life beyond the choir, and to all those who didn’t yet know they give a care.