No Mud, No Lotus: The most Precious Lesson I’ve Learned from Thich Nhat Hanh.

Elephant Journal
The Daily Mindful
Published in
3 min readJan 23, 2022

--

TDKR CHICAGO 101/WIKIMEDIA COMMONS

One of the guesthouses I stayed in when I was in India had a cozy living room with a huge library.

I loved to chill there after a long day of touring and pick up books that other travelers had randomly left on the table and couches.

One of the books I stumbled upon was written by the renowned Vietnamese Buddhist monk Thich Nhat Hanh — No Mud, No Lotus: The Art of Transforming Suffering.

I didn’t get to all chapters, as I had to move to another town, but that book and the words of Thich Nhat Hanh about suffering have changed my life forever.

In 2016, when I returned from India, I inked “no mud, no lotus” on my chest as a daily reminder when I stand in front of the mirror that without mud, the lotus flower can never grow.

Today, when I heard of Thich Nhat Hanh’s death, I returned once more to one of the most precious lessons I’ve learned from him:

Suffering is inevitable, but we can always transform it.

It is true that his heart stopped beating, but his words and endless wisdom will always remind me that I should not run away from my pain. I should not escape…

--

--

Elephant Journal
The Daily Mindful

Elephant is an independent, mindful media dedicated to sharing the good life beyond the choir, and to all those who didn’t yet know they give a care.