5 things I do to calm my anxious mind.

Flow With Josh
the daily swell
Published in
4 min readAug 14, 2023

My go to remedies for when my anxiety peaks.

Photo by Harli Marten on Unsplash

Ever since I can remember I have suffered with anxiety. It’s not an anxiety that I cannot live with or that interferes too much with my day to day existence, but it’s always been there loitering just under the surface and at certain times in my life it shows it’s ugly face.

Over the years I have learned some amazing tools and techniques that help to quell my anxiety during these stressful times.

Here are my top 5 techniques to stopping anxious thoughts in their tracks….

  1. Meditate
Photo by Jared Rice on Unsplash

Meditation, hands down is the most effective way to stop anxiety fast.

It’s my go to emergency tool but it does take practice, daily practice.

I’ve been Meditating daily for over a decade now and I’m still learning new things about my mind and how this amazing technique works.

Meditation is great for calming the mind during a period of high anxiety and with regular daily practice can help you become more resilient towards the stressors in your life.

Check out a free app called Medito it’s a Great starting point.

2. Exercise

Photo by Venti Views on Unsplash

Exercise releases happy hormones and is another great way to combat those anxious thought patterns.

Physical activity is also a great distraction method if you are feeling overwhelmed with anxious feelings.

If you struggle for time as I do having two young children, you should try some hit(high intensity training) this way you will get the most benefit in a short amount of time.

3. Walk

Photo by Spencer Goggin on Unsplash

Walking, especially in nature is another highly accessible way to quieten the mind.

It’s like an active version of meditation, I feel an immediate sense of calm when I’m surrounded by nature.

Putting our focus on the smells, sights and sensations of our natural surroundings can be an amazing tool in alleviating periods of anxiety in our lives.

4. Breathe

Photo by Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash

Sometimes we just need to breath, taking a few moments out of our busy lives to take a breath can make all the difference to the way we are feeling.

Most of us don’t know how to breathe properly. We shallow breath through our mouths and this on its own can cause anxiety by disrupting the balance of oxygen and carbon dioxide in the body.

A simple but effective breathing exercise I use in times of need

  1. Find a quiet and comfortable place to sit or lie down.
  2. Close your eyes and take a slow, deep breath in through your nose, counting to four as you inhale.
  3. Hold your breath for a moment, counting to four again.
  4. Now, exhale slowly and completely through your mouth, counting to six as you release the breath.
  5. Repeat this pattern – inhaling for four counts, holding for four counts, and exhaling for six counts – for a few minutes or until you start feeling more relaxed.

5. Be beside the sea

Photo by Bill Fairs on Unsplash

Being around water is a great healer.

There’s a lot of research going on at the moment into the effect bodies of water have on our wellbeing.

I’ve always been fascinated by this subject as I spend a lot of time by the coast and find that when I come away I always feel rejuvenated.

Dr Wallace J Nichols is a marine biologist and author who has developed a theory called blue mind theory. The theory suggests that our brains have a positive response to being in and around water, triggering a state of calm clarity and relaxation.

Practicing these tools and techniques has helped me overcome some of the most anxious times in my life, I hope that they can help you calm your mind and find some inner peace.

--

--