Day 1: Dealing With A Family Member That Has Alzheimer’s As A Teen

Camila Broz🧢
1 min readNov 6, 2022

--

When I was little, my grandma was showing signs of dementia and later on she was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s. Since this happened at an early age I never really got to spend enough time with her when she was okay.

It wasn’t easy on my father since it is his mother, however I think I handled it good. Having to deal with a family member that has Alzheimer‘s as a teenager has made me realize that you should spend time with your loved ones before it’s too late. This progressive disease obligated me to learn how to deal with my grandma forgetting me and it only got worse. I’m not going to lie, I did feel like I had some type of hope in the beginning but I soon realized that hope is bullshit when it comes to a disease like this.

Sometimes I wonder and I think maybe this her destiny for a reason, what if she deserved it? I know it sounds messed up but my grandmother wasn’t really the best lol. I do believe that everything happens for a reason in this world and that mentality really helps me I guess. Dealing with this disease at an early age has changed my point of view in life. It taught me to be strong because it’s not easy seeing your grandma to the point where she can’t even move or open her eyes to see you one last time.

Read this post and more on my Typeshare Social Blog

--

--