Day 23: How Does One Prepare for a Baby at 17 Years Old

Lia CeperošŸ§¢
The Daily Writing Habit
2 min readOct 4, 2022

Reading up on so much information to do my best to be a mom at 17 Years Old.

Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

When I found out I was pregnant I was 16 years old, and 3 months later I was turning 17. I for some reason was desperate to turn 17 because my logic was that pregnant at 17 sounded better than saying I was 16 and pregnant. On top of that, I didnā€™t want to seem like I was immature and stupid for not knowing baby things.

So, I prepared like any first-time mom would and read books, Iā€™m sure everyone has heard of the book: What to Expect When You Are Expecting. The famous book that supposedly tells you everything you need to know about pregnancy. Then via Instagram and TikTok, I saw more interesting information and people who were in the same boat as me.

This really helped me to feel less lonely and more informed about this new stage in my life. My advice is to go to the OBGYN knowing everything they could ask you about, know stuff like due dates and baby positioning. So that you can ask questions about the health of your baby and no doctor can neglect your care just because you are young and ā€œdonā€™t knowā€

I knew more about pregnancies and babies than my own mother I got quite literally obsessed with car seat safety, and SIDS (sudden infant death syndrome) this would normally happen while they sleep so I searched for ways to prevent it and safe crib mattresses. I also bought a heart doppler to constantly hear my babyā€™s heart rate. I went a little over the top but I never let anyone put me down for making the decision of having my baby.

--

--