Day 25: My Experience of Having to Drop Out of High School at 17 Years Old

Lia CeperošŸ§¢
2 min readOct 6, 2022

--

When it got too complicated to keep going while pregnant, I was left with no choice.

Photo by Vasily Koloda on Unsplash

August of 2020, I found out I was pregnant and at the time I was in summer break from school. The new school year was starting soon and COVID was still pretty bad, so everyone was still online which for me was really good, my belly could grow, and no one would be staring, and I would have more comfort to go to doctorā€™s appointments.

After school started online seemed easy enough, no one knew about my situation and most of the time I didnā€™t have to have y camera on, which was helpful because I was going to the bathroom to throw up, and I could also lay down with my laptop, even though some teachers were stricter than others.

For example, my AP Spanish teachers loved picking on me and asking a bunch of questions. So far, my doctorā€™s appointments were not interfering with classes but around my birthday in October I developed a pilonidal cyst from sitting for too long and that required surgery to remove all while I was pregnant. It was the most horrible experience of my life; the pain was unbearable.

This forced me to miss more than a week of school and my Spanish teacher lost it and called my mother, now mind you her class was the class with the most homework I had ever seen, it was so much, and she wanted me to make it all up in 2 days which was literally impossible and so I told her that this AP class was going to be too much and my mom explained that I was pregnant and she was very rude towards that information.

She said I was very stupid for not aborting and that I couldnā€™t drop her AP class like I wanted and switch to regular Spanish. So, I dropped out and enrolled into a private school where I could everything remotely online and with no teachers just the work whenever I wanted and finish in a year, and then I graduated with my high school diploma šŸ˜Š

--

--