One Character From A Story That Inspires You

Anthony Alonso 🧢
The Daily Writing Habit
2 min readOct 4, 2022
Guts sitting on the window sill of a boat.

Guts, from my favorite story Berserk, is a character I find inspiring and he pushes me to move forward.

Guts is the main character from a Japanese story called Berserk, a dark fantasy covering many adult topics. Guts in particular undergoes many trials and tribulations, enough that in his world he is given the title The Struggler. It may seem negative on the onset, as with a lot of symbols in Berserk; however, it is a motivating and empowering title. To be a struggler implies that through hardship, you fight on and roll with the punches.

Guts is not a good person, but he tries to improve.

This statement is not entirely true as in the current time, Guts has drastically improved as a person. Guts, prior to his current self, was so mentally affected by the problems surrounding him that he would do horrible things that would resemble a villain had we not seen what made him that way. However, he learns. Guts matures and realizes his mistakes, he grows. This aspect of Guts is also motivating. Guts does not fall to his past self and only works towards a path of self improvement, a valuable lesson we can all learn from.

Guts is strong for himself and for others.

One of the biggest motivators for me working out currently has to be Berserk. Getting stronger is a big part of the story and as the story progresses the characters build themselves to be stronger physically and mentally. In fact, I am so motivated by Berserk that I tattooed the primary symbol of the show on my back and considered that a reminder of what I have to do and to fight on when I feel like I want to give up.

The story primarily teaches you to never give up and that is something that is universal, keep fighting. Keep struggling.

--

--