Our focus and a few general points

Ivan Sorensen
The Danish at war
Published in
2 min readMay 17, 2022

A note on time periods:

The initial focus of the blog will be on the era from roughly the Napoleonic Wars (ending in 1815) and until the first world war (ending in 1918) which gives us about a hundred years to work with. This also lets us put focus on an area of particular interest to me in the two Slesvig wars (1848–50 and 1864)

In tabletop gaming terms, this encompasses the height and end of the “Horse and musket” era and into what is sometimes called “Rifle and saber”, culminating in the birth of modern warfare.

With time, I will certainly want to expand into the 17th century (the so-called “Pike and shot” era) as well as discuss Denmark during the second world war. However, any journey must start somewhere.

I am very unlikely to foray into medieval and pre-medieval warfare but time will tell.

A note on language:

I will be using the Danish names for Slesvig and Holsten up through the 1864 war and the German names (Schleswig and Holstein) after that point.

For place names inside Denmark proper, I will always use the Danish name (but will attempt to include the English version to help alleviate confusion).

For the two Slesvig-Holsten wars, I will be using the term “Rebels” to refer to troops from the two provinces as “Slesvig-Holstener” is rather awkward to type out every time and “Germans” when it is unclear where the troops involved are from.

A note on sources:

I will try to make it clear whether I am referring to a primary, secondary or tertiary source.

As with all research, some sources and works will of course be biased, incomplete or containing inaccuracies. Our work is to piece things together as accurately as possible as we go. If I write an article on something and find additional or clarification information later, I will review the older articles and make updates as needed or (if the changes are substantial) post an updated version.

A note on views:

You would think that events that happened more than a hundred years ago would be fairly neutral, but with the internet being what it is I want to emphasize that I don’t care one bit for nationalistic claptrap.

A note on communication:

If you would like to contact me with suggestions, corrections or questions, you can do so by email at thedanishatwar@icloud.com

--

--