Desi Dark Academia Movies, Part 1

6 Indian movies you need to watch

Nayanika Saikia
The Dark Academician

--

When it comes to Dark Academia, it is so very obvious that this genre is largely dominated by eurocentric ideals. While I have nothing against this European aspect per se, I do believe that it overshadows the really nuanced Desi or Brown culture’s Dark Academia. And this is so totally unfair because Desi Dark Academia has so much to offer!

Desi Dark Academia is vibrant, rich, and chock full of history. To miss out on this is to be unknowingly robbed of great literature. From books to theatre to movies, Desi Dark Academia is vast and in today’s article, I will share a few of my favorite Indian movies that reflect this aesthetic well.

I look forward to your comments — if you want more such recommendations, you only have to let me know!

Hum Dil De Chuke Sanam, 1999

Collage image provided by the author

This movie was probably my first experience with Sanjay Leela Bhansali, a famous and acclaimed director of India, whose sets and scripts are magnificent! I will be sharing a couple of more movies by him!

--

--