Hello, World!

Sanket Gupta
The Data Life
Published in
2 min readFeb 4, 2019

Over the years, I have been writing several blogs on various topics in data science and engineering. Some of them educational, some of them technical and some of them just my experiences. I have received messages where people from Portugal, Russia, India, Brazil and other places who have found something useful in these blogs. This has been hugely gratifying, and this pushes me more to write useful blogs. I have decided to start my own publication — I want to focus not only on the technical side but also on the “life” aspect of data science as well.
Wherever you may be reading this, welcome, and I really appreciate your support!

In the first few blog posts, I will cover the “life” aspect of data science where we will dig into topics like
1) getting a Masters degree,
2) day to day life in data science,
3) how you can transition from a non-data science education into data science.
4) visa situation in US for students etc.

Later on, we will cover more Machine Learning related topics like
5) mistakes to avoid in a machine learning project,
6) first few things you need to do before starting any data science project,
7) how to choose a machine learning model etc.

Gradually we will dig deeper into my current favorite area which is natural language processing and text analysis. I have still not decided, but I might intersperse these topics as we go along. My goal is to keep this blog light, fun and useful. If you find any of these topics of interest, please follow, and write a comment below! This will make me work on the blogs in earnest.

As always, thank you, and I wish you the very best.

--

--

Sanket Gupta
The Data Life

At the intersection of machine learning, design and product. Host of The Data Life Podcast. Opinions are my own and do not express views of my employer.