How you can Score 95% plus on the DP-600 Fabric Analytics Engineer Associate Microsoft Certification

Rui Carvalho
The Data Therapy
Published in
4 min readJun 30, 2024
https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/credentials/certifications/fabric-analytics-engineer-associate/?practice-assessment-type=certification

After spending so much time using Microsoft Fabric since it was in preview, I finally managed to achieve this certification.

I am thrilled to share that I have completed the Microsoft Fabric Analytics Engineer Associate certification with a high score!

And I want the same for you 🫵

I will tell you about how I did it right now.

Exam Coverage

  • Plan, implement, and manage a solution for data analytics (10–15%)
  • Prepare and serve data (40–45%)
  • Implement and manage semantic models (20–25%)
  • Explore and analyze data (20–25%)

Nº questions: 59

Time limit: 100 minutes

Registration fee: $165 (Make sure there´s an active promotion to get a discount on the exam)

Question types: Multiple choice, drag and drop, place in correct order.

1. Do all the modules from Microsoft Fabric Learning Path — They have great step by steps

I did the learning modules to complete the AI Skill Challenge. Still, I assure you that they are very well made and comprehensive, with great theoretical explanations and a step-by-step exercise for you to be hands-on with every Microsoft Fabric Module.

Want to learn together?

If you think you need someone to go along with you on the learning path, I recommend you to watch the Fabric series Learning Together where you will learn directly from multiple MVP and Data professionals.

Free on Youtube 👇

2. Watch Will Needham DP-600 Preparation Playlist

Believe me when I say this playlist is gold! It’s no coincidence that everyone talks about it.

In his YouTube channel, Will covers every module that´s on the exam with a fine-grained explanation, great examples, and use cases. If you are not very comfortable with some Fabric concepts yet, go and watch this marathon 👇

3. Nikola DP-600 Playlist

Another great piece of content is in the Data Mozart YouTube channel. It´s not a full guide on every topic of the DP-600 exam but in these videos, Nikola presents us with some concepts that we need to know with great examples of how to apply them.

Don´t skip on this one 👇

4. Daily Base Practice

I´ve been writing and using Microsoft Fabric since day 1! And definitely this helped me to understand the platform as a whole.

If you want to do this certification, make sure to have a certain amount of hands-on hours in the bank.

Test the functionalities, and build your projects. By doing this you will master Microsoft Fabric.

5. Practice Exams and Answer Exam Questions

Honestly, I didn´t find any official practice exam (send me if you found any), so the final leg of my preparation involved practicing with training questions from Exam Topics

It offers a comprehensive set of questions that mimic the style and difficulty of the actual exam questions. Here’s how it helped:

  • Broad Range of Questions: The questions covered a wide range of topics, ensuring that I was well-prepared for any subject area in the exam.
  • Real Exam Simulation: Practicing with these questions felt like taking the actual exam, which greatly reduced my anxiety on the exam day.
  • Discussions: Every question has a discussion tab where you can debate which answer is correct and why, this is fundamental to why a given answer is correct or not.

Advice on the Exam

From my perspective and as someone who did everything that I mentioned above I found the exam well achievable (especially for an Associate exam!)

Understand well how the Fabric capacities work.

Understand the Onelake architecture, this is fundamental.

Understand how Direct Lake works, there are a few questions on that.

Have good knowledge of data warehousing and data engineering, especially on T-SQL queries, PySpark, and performance.

Focus on the tool, sometimes you need to pick a technology or a functionality to use in a certain scenario from the options available. Remember you are on a Microsoft Fabric exam, so make sure you choose according to that.

Fabric Content

Feel free to visit my Medium Profile! I´ve been writing about Fabric topics since day 1, I believe that you will a lot of posts that will cover topics that will interest you.

I wish you the best for you on your study journey and in accomplishing the certification!👊

Did you enjoy it? For just $5 a month, become a Medium Member and enjoy limitless access to every masterpiece on Medium. By reading my posts as a Medium Member, you not only contribute to my work but also play a crucial role in enhancing the quality of my work. Your support means the world! 😊

--

--

Rui Carvalho
The Data Therapy

Data Enthusiast | Time Management and Productivity | Book Lover | One of my passions is to teach what´ve learned | Storys every week.