Consider The Lilies

kassim
2 min readFeb 3, 2016

--

“Consider the lilies of the field, how the grow: they neither toil nor spin; and yet I say to you that even solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. Now if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is, and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will He not much more clothe you, O you of little faith?”

“Therefore do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For after all these things the Gentiles seek. For your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things. But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.”

- Matthew 6:25–34

“Do not worry…” Sometimes, it’s all I can do. Over the past year, I’ve either been toiling and spinning at a job, or toiling and spinning in search of one. Currently, the latter is the case. It’s difficult not to worry when the passage of time continually brings your next financial obligation closer and closer. Even though the worry does come, I handle it much better these days.

Years ago, I took the end of that passage to heart: “…do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.” I often give those words credit for having kept me going [through life] for the past ten years. I’d love to see ten more — hopefully without so much spin and toil.

I’m searching.

--

--

kassim

Living on various forms of bread and water, and every word that proceeds from the mouth of God | 2nd wind…