The Overwhelming Entitlement of the Internet Writer

An Essay For Modern Creatives

Jonathan Greene
The Death of Online Writing

--

Photo by Adi Goldstein on Unsplash

Everyone needs a come-to-Jesus moment. No, not the religious kind. The kind perfectly described by Urban Dictionary as follows:

An epiphany in which one realizes the truth of a matter; a sudden, intuitive perception of or insight into the reality or essential meaning of something; coming clean and admitting failures; realizing the true weight or impact of a negative situation or fact; acknowledgment that one must get back to core values; moment of realization; an aha moment; moment of decision; moment of truth; critical moment; moment of reassessment of priorities; turning point; life-changing moment.

Yeah, all of that. And no one is in more need of one of these moments than the Internet Writer. Awash with a quixotic mix of boisterous ego and self-flagellation, the Internet Writer is highly reactionary. Even the slightest drop of criticism sends the Internet Writer into a tailspin. Even when it’s universally warranted.

I have to tell you, I’ve been the Internet Writer. It’s why I left Medium the first time. I thought I knew better than Medium. I thought I knew better than all of the publications. I thought my views were always right and everyone else’s were wrong. Then I took a break. And during my break, I had a come-to-Jesus…

--

--

Jonathan Greene
The Death of Online Writing

Father, podcast host, poet, writer, real estate investor/team leader, certified life coach. Curating a meaningful life. IG: trustgreene | trustgreene.com