I spent a weekend using Google Allo for Web. Here are my thoughts

This is all from an experience on iPhone and a Windows 10 PC

Michael Brown
the decipher
4 min readNov 7, 2017

--

by Michael Brown

I had a project to work on throughout the weekend so I would need to be away from my iPhone to keep from distractions. I did, however, need to keep in contact with friends and family because plans were being made for the following weekend. Luckily I have convinced most of my friends and family to install Google Allo. The other half of them are heavily invested in iMessage and getting them to switch to Allo is almost impossible. So I got to it.

The setup process is the biggest issue.

I went to allo.google.com/web to get started opening the web app on my laptop screen. To setup Allo for Web feels so primal. I’m presented with the third image you can see below. I have to get my phone, unlock my phone, maneuver around the other notifications that I have been ignoring to keep from distraction, open the Allo app, then tap the menu icon, and click the designated ”QR Scanner” button to scan my laptop screen. Why?

This is how Allo For Web works: Google Allo messages are shared from the phone to the computer, through that QR Code. Which means, you won’t get any of your messages on the computer if you turn off your phone. I rarely turn off my phone, so that doesn’t matter to me. Nevertheless, the setup process is just like WhatsApp’s, Facebook’s instant messaging client. The setup process is the biggest issue. Once getting over that, the experience is fine.

Overall, the #Allo For Web experience feels like a baby of sorts. Google Allo beta-testers are saying that Google is treating as if it’s the first of many versions of the web app. So there are many updates to come. With that said, the current version of the web app is missing about 70% of the features that are on the Android or iOS app.

The “shout and whisper” feature, where you can tap and drag the send arrow to give your words some effects, isn’t available. Many users have explained that the shout/whisper feature does work in the web app. You can’t create an Allo selfie sticker in the web app, though the artist contributed stickers and gifs are available.

The Google Assistant is there but I wasn’t able to invoke it by typing “@Google”. Nevertheless, I’ve also been told that users are able to mention fellow users and invoke the Google assistant by typing “@google” and hitting the space bar. I’ve been able to do this myself also. Must’ve been user error. You can also click the “floating bubbles” icon, which Google expects everyone to be able to identify oddly. [UPDATED] Mentioning (@Steve) people didn’t seem to work for me, but I was told by an insider that it works on Chrome OS.

I was on a Windows 10 PC. Changing the chat themes are there for what it’s worth, but I would still like to have a little more ability to customize like changing the background image to what I want. Suggestive text is still really good and even better on the web.

Somethings are a little awkward on the web too. Though someone in the chat may create a “@yesno” poll (#Google’s bot feature for creating polls in chats) but if you’re on the web app, not only can you not vote, but you can’t view the poll itself. You just see a status message that lets you know someone in the chat voted on the poll. It’s weird, but it’s a baby app. I’m sure a Google will update that as well.

Overall, the #Allo For Web experience feels like a baby of sorts.

Allo for Web was ok to use during the 48hrs. I was bouncing in and out of it and the connection was pretty consistent and it kept me in touch. It isn’t on par with #Apple iMessage’s iOS to macOS continuity experience. However, it’s a step in the right direction to fill the void left in our hearts that Google once filled with Hangouts.

--

--

Michael Brown
the decipher

🎓 Software Engineer | Software Dev since 2013 Learning Android Development | Kotlin, Jetpack Compose