iMessage and Me

Just face it, we’re all trapped in iMessage’s celestial prison

Michael Brown
the decipher
2 min readNov 7, 2017

--

by Michael Brown

Google announced their updated collection of Made by Google products, including the highly anticipated Google Pixel 2. Last year, the Google Pixel plausibly was the smartphone with the best camera all throughout last year. Conceivably, this year’s Pixel 2 has followed suit in being the inheritor. Amongst many other performance tests and special features, why haven’t most people switched from iPhone to Pixel? One word, iMessage.

iMessage is a pivotal application with primal functionality that has grown to change the way we communicate

I want the Google Pixel 2. I really do. As I sat here and typed this up, I looked at my iPhone 7 Plus with a shrieking feeling of fear. A fear of missing out on iMessage and the rich group chats that I have with my friends and family. I know I’m not alone in this. Damon Beres, a Director of Editorial Programming at Mashable, wrote a piece titled, “Apple trapped me on iOS — perhaps forever”. Lauren Goode, senior technology editor at The Verge, put together a similar piece.

iMessage is a pivotal application with primal functionality that has grown to change the way we communicate. How we expect to communicate via text. Hence the reason why it’s so hard for us to be without it. Google knows this. Which is why Google has been attempting to rival it with Google Jibe, Android Messages, and it’s sea of messaging apps.

We’re all trapped in iMessage. The more features Apple adds to this unrivaled and beloved messaging app, the harder it will be to leave this celestial prison. And Google knows this.

--

--

Michael Brown
the decipher

🎓 Software Engineer | Software Dev since 2013 Learning Android Development | Kotlin, Jetpack Compose