How Sustainable Am I?

Elena's Declutter
The Declutter Coach
3 min readJan 18, 2021

No matter where you are in your sustainable journey (whether just learning about about it or if you’ve been using reusable grocery bags forever), there is always something to be improved on.

To give you some new ideas and help you feel not alone, here are a few lists I compiled for you.

*Remember our lives are different. So, if you write a list like this for you, it should NOT look exactly the same.*

SUSTAINABLE THINGS I CURRENTLY DO

  1. Use reusable produce bags
  2. Use reusable grocery bags
  3. Shop for second hand clothing or buy from sustainable brands
  4. Don’t purchase on impulse (most of the time)
  5. Use handkerchiefs (instead of tissue paper) for blowing my nose.
  6. Use period underwear instead of single use hygiene products.
  7. Shop second hand
  8. Use things as long as possible
  9. Use a bamboo toothbrush
  10. Use metal straw (or just refuse a straw) — P.S. I’m not good at remembering to do this.
  11. Donate as best as I can.
  12. Regifting
  13. No useless gifts/purchases (and just shop less in general).
  14. Use essential oils and green cleaning products over Febreze or harsh chemicals.
  15. Clean Mirror with water and wash cloth (rather than window cleaner and paper towels).
  16. Use reusable plastic containers rather than plastic wrap or zip lock bags
  17. Reuse plastic grocery sacks I do get for trash bags and carrying items
  18. Ask for things I need or non-physical items for my birthday/christmas.
  19. Use a safety razor
  20. Using a body soap bar (rather than liquid in a plastic bottle)
  21. Get books second hand or buy them on Audible (listen to them digitally).
  22. Share books.
  23. Buy lettuce not in plastic
  24. Avoid plastic at the grocery store as best I can
  25. Buy cage free, organic eggs
  26. Cook most meals at home.
  27. Mend clothes when I can.
  28. Use my DIY wool balls rather than dryer sheets.
  29. Do clothing swaps (just did one last week and it was so fun!).
  30. Reuse glass jars.
  31. Buy recycled, plastic free TP.
  32. Look often at all food to make sure things get eaten before they go bad.
  33. Say no to free stuff I don’t need.
  34. Eat mostly vegetarian.
  35. Use shampoo, conditioning, and facial bar soap.
  36. Use non-mesh produce bags for dry goods.
  37. Be happy with what I have.

SUSTAINABLE THINGS I NEED TO START DOING SOON

  1. Buy plastic free, natural deodorant (once my other one runs out).
  2. Make my own nut milk (instead of buying cartons).
  3. Cook my own beans (instead of buying canned).
  4. Switch to Loose Leaf Tea (once I use up my individually packaged teas).
  5. Don’t buy lip balm, just use coconut oil (once my chapsticks are gone).
  6. Buy rechargeable batteries.
  7. Buy non-mesh produce bags for dry goods.
  8. Bring my own cutlery.
  9. Plastic free, natural toothpaste.

SUSTAINABLE THINGS I WILL START DOING WHEN I HAVE MY OWN HOUSE/LATER

  1. Don’t buy plastic dish scrubbers.
  2. Compost
  3. Recycle (I don’t have recycling in my area)
  4. Buy my electronics second hand
  5. Make my own snacks/granola bars at home.
  6. Try soap nuts for washing clothes.
  7. Make my own breads and tortillas.
  8. Buy silicone baking mat to use instead of plastic and aluminum foil.
  9. Wooden Hair Brush (when my plastic one completely dies).
  10. Try using reusable diapers for babies (when I have kids someday).

My main struggle at the moment is food packaging. Most things I throw away are from the grocery store, I’m trying to buy more in bulk and from the produce section. But it’s hard to change your food habits, especially when you’re busy.

Wherever you are at, DON’T BEAT YOURSELF UP… Just do the best you can.

--

--

Elena's Declutter
The Declutter Coach

I’m Elena Harris. Elena’s Declutter is my coaching business. My mission is to help people declutter and find freedom in their homes and minds.