Is it your goal to simplify your life?

Mary Gallagher
The Decluttered Soul
Sent as a

Newsletter

3 min readJul 16, 2022

--

Is it your goal to simplify your life? Photo by author

Is it your goal to simplify your life to gain more time, freedom, and joy?

A few years ago I was gripped with an urgency to simplify. I was tired and overwhelmed with the amount of work it took to sustain the lifestyle I had worked so hard to achieve. My emotional connection to things, even my beautiful dream home, began to loosen. Little did I know this was preparation for what was to come.

Maybe you are feeling that restlessness too. The urge to take life down a notch, to step back from the race, to add a calming balm to your life.

There is no formula for carving out a simple life, but there are some basic principles to stick to for keeping life simple. I share those 10 principles here in this article.

“Terrific, Mary,” you say, “but I need practical steps. Help me simplify my life before I burn out or become buried under the weight of all my clutter and other people’s expectations!”

I’ve got you covered there too!

For some of my best articles on simplifying, start here.

Want more? Need some self-reflection tools to help you analyze your life and stay the course?

photo by author

If you’re looking for day-to-day inspiration, encouragement, and fellowship along the way, then the Decluttered Soul Facebook group is for you. We live in a culture that screams “more” and is full of distractions. This lovely group of soul minimalists will keep you focused and help you build your simplicity muscle. Come join us!

And finally, we all need to take baby steps when starting something new. Don’t be afraid or embarrassed to be a beginner! Changing a lifestyle starts with changing a mindset. These Simple Living Affirmation cards will get you started by helping you set your mind on what matters to you. Simply download, print, and post them in prominent places around your house, paste them into a journal, or bundle them and carry them with you as daily reminders of the lifestyle you are creating.

download now from Etsy

Simple Living Affirmation Cards available for download

That’s all for now, friends. Until next time: Keep it simple! ~Mary

Creator of Simple Life ~ Simple Faith and author of Pick More Daisies (a SLSF publication) — Photo by author

--

--

Mary Gallagher
The Decluttered Soul

I cut the stress, slowed down, and learned the art of intentional living. When you declutter your soul, you make room for what matters. @The Decluttered Soul