Exclusive Interview with the man behind the “What About DeRozan?!” video

The Defeated
The Defeated
Published in
7 min readMay 27, 2016

When it comes to listing the best moments in Raptors history, many point to Vince Carter’s dunk contest in 2001, Chris Bosh being named to the Redeem Team, or most recently, Kyle Lowry’s 35-point performance in Game 7 to put away the Miami Heat.

But personally, I think of this video:

The Defeated Podcast have been fawning over this video for years, and through sheer coincidence, we managed to track down the man, the myth, the legend behind one of the best moments in Raptors history.

We caught up with Courtney Fraser, who famously asked the question “What about DeRozan?” Follow him on Twitter (SameOldSwan) and check out the ItsTooReal podcast hosted by his friend E.

We sat down with Courtney to discuss the video production process, he revealed the identity of the “OMMMGGGG” guy, he gave some very candid thoughts on Terrence Ross, he reiterated that Bryan Colangelo is not allowed back in Toronto, and we mostly just shot the shit about Raptors history.

We transcribed portions of the interview below. For the full interview, listen to Episode 12.

Defeated: How long have you known about this video? What’s the background story?

I didn’t even know the video was out there. I just found out two days ago.

OK so walk us through the night Terrence Ross happened

So every year, we all get together and watch the draft, and I’m 28, so I’ve been watching the Raptors since I was like 7 or 8 years old. Raptors have always been my favorite team, I ain’t never had another favorite team, like all my favorite players came from the Raptors …

But yeah, we got around, waited around the TV, and the footage — I think I had an iPhone 4S at that time — and I’m just like yo let’s just start recording this.

And the anticipation: I thought we had Drummond coming. I really thought they were going to go after Austin Rivers, too, because I heard Dwane Casey wanted a perimeter guy who could knock down shots and play defense. We lacked 3-point shooting at the time. We were like the Euroleague. We had like Calderon and Bargnani and that was it.

We were there gathered around, and it was still David Stern, and he goes “with the 8th pick of the NBA draft, the Toronto Raptors select … Terrence Ross”. And I was like, “Yo…WHAT?”

So anyway, this guy picks Terrence Ross, so I wanna know. Like fam, you told us DeRozan was the guy we were pushing, he’s got this talent, he’s gonna be our VC. … But like we thought we were getting something nice. We thought we were going to work magic with the 8th pick. And this guy just takes Terrence Ross, and I’m just like, I had enough.

I buy tickets every year, I buy merchandise, you do these promos, like you had these media days where you’re like, “In the offseason, we’re going to pound the rock”, like Dwane Casey just came off a championship, this is his team now, and here comes Bryan Colangelo. He had one job.

I told you man

I gotta ask you one thing though. You said ‘I told you fam’. That’s what you were saying in the video.

I was talking to my brother and my friend, “I told you they were going to do this.” And they were like, “No he’s going to get this right.” And I was like “I told you. I told you.” I wish I was in the ACC. I’ve been to the boxes, I wish I saw Bryan Colangelo that day. Because the way I was feeling … I was in a dark place as a Raptors fan.

Tell us how Ross made you quit NBA2K

(Colangelo) just comes in and takes Terrence Ross, and I’m like that’s it. I’m getting worked in NBA2K picking the Raptors. All my boys they’re picking the Lakers, Celtics, the Bulls — don’t even get me started.

Derrick Rose was unstoppable.

WOOW. Don’t get me started about Derrick Rose. I couldn’t guard this guy for shit with Calderon. You’re holding L2 to get that stance on defense and it just doesn’t work bro. I’m playing zone, fam.

On the other end, DeRozan didn’t have that midrange yet, so you gotta try to dunk it with him. Sonny Weems, you just gotta dunk it with him. Then these guys take Terrence Ross, and I know it ain’t getting no better for me next year in 2K. I’m taking 20-point slaps. I was not a slouch, bro. This guy literally ruined 2K. I don’t even buy 2K no more because I couldn’t pick the team that I love. He ruined 2K for me. That’s why I play FIFA now

Remember we had Amir Johnson. We ain’t getting nothing on the boards. Who else we got?

Bargnani

Was it still Bargnani? Jesus Christ.

Aaron Gray

Oh I think he had some kind of defensive ability. He was a stiff though. Who else we have? Who was the backup?

Ed Davis

Yeah he’s trash. Listen, as good as I was, I had no starpower. So I wanted a new star small forward on this team because I was getting worked. Look, we drafted Terrence Ross in the lottery, and he wasn’t starting. That hurt me too.

Probably the worst team ever on NBA2K

Tell us how you root against Ross, even during that 51-point game

Remember when Terrence Ross had that deceiving game, when he tied Vince Carter’s record. I remember me and my boys watching that game like “nah this ain’t right bro.” At that point, I would’ve taken the loss just so he wouldn’t be there as the all-time leader in points in Raptors history. It was the only time I wanted the Raptors to lose a game.

You know what pisses me off about Terrence Ross even now? He’s so athletic, it’s just like go hone your craft, fam. What are you doing? Amber Rose? Terrence Ross just has those moments that’s like just T-Ross being T-Ross. Like why’d you take that fam?

Who was the dude in the back crying “Oh my God?”

That’s my brother, yo. Me and my brother have been going to Raptors games since we were young. That’s all we know.

What would you do if you saw Bryan Colangelo?

Yo I was hype. That day, man, I don’t wish ill on anybody, but let’s just say if I saw Bryan Colangelo at the Hasty Market or something like that, there’s no telling fam. There’s no telling what would’ve happened, fam. I might’ve spazzed on him like “What are you doing?!?! You’re bleeding us dry.” He’s the worst.

What about DeRozan? You letting him walk?

I met Masai in the box once. He’s a real cool guy, man. Two weeks ago, I was saying he can let DeRozan walk. The way it’s looking right now? You can’t forget about DeRozan, man.

What about DeRozan, man? Don’t go away from that.

People were telling me DeRozan’s not worth $120 mill. Where should I address the fade, fam? I’m not gonna let you slander my guy like that. There’s been plenty of times I’ve been like “What about DeRozan, man?!” You guys just heard it that one time on video. But that Game 7 against Brooklyn, I was in Real Sports screaming out “What about DeRozan, man?!” Lowry was this chubby baby, you know why he lost this weight? ’Cause Bradley Beal told him “you can’t fuck with me.”

How did that video leak out?

I don’t know, I posted it on Facebook and I don’t even have Facebook anymore. I don’t know how long that’s been on there. I don’t even know the guy that posted it on YouTube. He made me see the potential if I market myself. You’re gonna see another video from me this draft, I’m gonna be ready. I’m gonna send one out to you guys when it’s up.

Thoughts on Bruno Caboclo?

I see Bruno, it looks like he doesn’t even know how to line up on the free throw block. Like bro, where’d this guy come from? Was he even playing basketball? Masai, where’d you find this guy, in the big and tall section? Masai, I believe in you, but stop shopping in the big and tall section, bro. Stop trying to help these kids find a way out of their countries. He’s literally Basketball Without Borders. If you call the head office, Masai will answer. NBA Cares, that’s him, man. He’s there bringing the Finals tshirts of the team that didn’t win over. The 2015 Cleveland Cavs — somewhere in Indonesia there’s a girl with one of those with Kyrie holding the trophy.

What does DeRozan lack in his game?

All DeRozan’s missing is a jumper. He needs a face soap or something too. That’s it. DeRozan annoys me cuz it’s like he has this one in grown hair and nobody’s telling him to tweeze it out. Like DeMar, you should be using Bevel. Tristan Walker, you need to call DeMar DeRozan. Whoever his barber is, he ain’t go no love for him, man.

--

--