7/25/18-A Royal Contestant! (Character Overview #2)

Alphasad
The Delta Project
Published in
3 min readJul 25, 2018

Hello! As you probably guessed by my name, I’m Alphasad, a long-time player of SSF2 and a modder since 9B. Despite being around for so long, I’m actually kinda…new. I joined the Delta Dev Team because I wanted to learn more, and I definitely have!

Today, I’ll be talking about the character I’ve put the most work into, and my personal favorite, Princess Peach!

[Before we get started, however, I’d like to note that anything you see in this blog is up to change, and will most likely be tweaked a bit before release. With that in mind, let’s get right into it!]

Daisy isn’t here but at least Peach is packing a stronger punch.

Although Peach already is top 20 in Vanilla SSF2, we can’t let her be left in the dust with all the buffs to Delta characters, so she’s been beefed up a bit as well. One of Peach’s main flaws is having an overall weak ground game. While her throws and Up-Smash may be good for securing kills, she has to rely heavily on messing with her opponent in the air beforehand.

In Delta, we’ve made a few changes that will help Peach in her aerial assault.

To start,a few of her attacks have had their angles adjusted, meaning they can now more reliably chain into her aerials. For example, sweetspot F-Tilt will send at a straight up 90° angle, making U-Airs and N-Airs not only easier, but more rewarding. F-Tilt will now send at a 75° angle, and sweetspot Dash-Attack at 80°. All these changes were made to help Peach carry her opponents into the air, but she does have other options…

Peach is known widely for her amazing grab game, being able to chaingrab fastfallers for quite a while. However, in SSF2, this seems to be…missing, or at least nerfed a bit. I’ve decided to buff two of her grabs, to make them more useful at low percents, but not so good she can keep a spacie locked in her hands.

Upthrow now has an extra bit of hitstun, meaning she can land more Up Smashes, U-Airs, or N-airs, but as compensation, her self-hitstun was also increased a bit, so her opponent at least has a fighting chance. Downthrow has also been tweaked, making it’s base KB lower, so Peach can use more moves out of it.

Due to the global changes in physics, you will notice Peach feeling a lot smoother and faster.

And now for the biggest change I’ve made to Peach yet far…

Peach is flexin lmAO

A new taunt! Yes, I noticed Peach only had two taunts, and decided…why not? This is my first time trying something like this, so I needed a little bit of help but, after a few hours of copying frames, crashing the game, and internal crying, I finally got it to work. She now has an Up/Down taunt, where she stretches, and then kicks her leg out, accompanied by her “Uh-Huh!” Taunt from Vanilla.

Oh, that reminds me, I made another change to one of her taunts. As you probably saw when you clicked on this, Peach still has her neutral taunt(Surprise!), but I made a minor tweak. Peach will now say “Sweet~” similar to how she does in Melee, instead of the “Uh-Huh!” from Vanilla.

Now this may seem a bit…lackluster, but Delta is still very much a WIP, so there’s a lot more coming soon. Be on the lookout for more info, and I hope you’ve enjoyed this little treat.

Until then, I await your return, ~Alpha.

--

--