Designers, please don’t use Figma to showcase your portfolio

Sharing your portfolio with the hiring team for the first time? Know your audience

Chris Kernaghan
The Designer’s Toolbox

--

The homepage for figma.com
Figma.com

I love Figma. I’ve loved it since its inception, I’ve loved it with each update and I’ve loved (and love) talking about it. I do my utmost to champion Figma for those that only know Sketch. What I don’t love however, is the number of junior designers sharing non-annotated Figma links via email to showcase work. As Lead UX Designer, I’m not the only decision maker in my team, so what may appear quirky to me appears as friction for others.

I clearly love Figma, but I can confidently say that not everyone shares my enthusiasm. Regardless of how good some applicants are, there’s a risk of rejection because there’s been no audience consideration. I might possibly understand the rationale — but will a recruiter? A CTO? A lead business analyst or senior product owner?

There’s always a danger in making assumptions, especially as a designer. If you’re applying for a new role, and aren’t 100% sure on the recipient, don’t use Figma to present your portfolio. Use a traditional portfolio instead.

Don’t use a sledgehammer to crack a nut

--

--

Chris Kernaghan
The Designer’s Toolbox

Good honest design that delights: Connect with Chris, owner of Belfast-based feedme.design, for design guidance and advice at chris@feedme.design.