Writing the perfect problem statement for UX research

How to choose the right sentence structure

Eva Schicker
The Designer’s Toolbox
5 min readNov 25, 2021

--

UX research starts with an entry point. To gather data, we need a problem statement. A statement can be a hypothesis, or a business idea, an improvement statement, or any nugget of an entrepreneurial spark.

UX research is a process. It comprises data discovery and data analysis. Without such data, a product cannot be designed, let alone be implemented.

A problem statement serves as a catalyst to ignite the process of data gathering

Often, we dream up ideas, and ideas come and go. What if I could sell my own products? What if I had a business with multiple income streams?

And more so… How would I start such an enterprise? What is needed from me? How can I turn the idea of crafting my own product into a much needed item that customers will buy?

To create a starting point and to capture such an idea, we need to write an Initial Problem Statement (IPS).

An Initial Problem Statement is a concise

--

--

Eva Schicker
The Designer’s Toolbox

Hello. I write about UX, UI, AI, animation, tech, fiction & art through the eyes of a designer & painter. I live in NYC. Book author, UX Grad GA NYC.