Graphic Design Podcasts That Matter to Your Progress

Staying tuned, inspired, and motivated — the podcasts aren’t just an amusement, but firstly an important tool to mold your creative personality.

The Designest
The Designest

--

Today’s variety of magazines, blogs, and podcasts can’t help rejoicing us! They make it much easier to grow your mastership without taking professional courses if you can’t access them. Most of our team are self-taught and driven by huge motivation and creative hunger.

So we’ve gathered together to bring you our recommendations on worthy design podcasts, which may be suitable literally for everyone and everything. To keep an eye on the news and trends, to hunt for pro hacks and tips, to explore inspiring personalities and their experience in the industry. Well, any of you will find a delicious candy in this chocolate box. Just open your eyes and see what we’ve got for you!

99% Invisible

When this podcast selection thing came up, I instantly staked out 99% Invisible podcast. I’ve been listening to it for years, and I’m sure it’s the safest bet when it comes to recommending design podcasts. On the other hand, if you are a podcast person and have a thing for design in any manifestation, the chance that you’re already a subscriber is high. But still, in case you’re not familiar with it, here is why you should start listening 99% Invisible right now.

When this podcast selection thing came up, I instantly staked out 99% Invisible podcast. I’ve been listening to it for years, and I’m sure it’s the safest bet when it comes to recommending design podcasts. On the other hand, if you are a podcast person and have a thing for design in any manifestation, the chance that you’re already a subscriber is high. But still, in case you’re not familiar with it, here is why you should start listening 99% Invisible right now.

The Futur

“How do you get more clients?” — I was exploring content marketing and searching for an expert to share some insights and practices. That’s how I came across The Futur podcast, an issue featuring Ryan Robinson. However, The Futur encompasses many more points and problems, that we, creators, writers, and entrepreneurs raise daily.

The speakers are real people from the design business, all with valuable stories them going through pains and gains to who they are now. Accordingly, you will see how to set relevant goals and solve daily tasks as 99% of them have already popped in these creators’ way: robust naming, logo, running freelance, self-promoting on Behance, dealing with customers and competitors, etc.

Other than regular podcasts on SoundCloud or iTunes, The Futur comes with a YouTube channel, and this one is a designer’s treasure chest, where even more topics come covered. Personal Development and Business of Design are just mind-blowing, and I’m sure you’ll find something to grab your attention for quite a while too.

Adventures in Design Network

That’s exactly the case when the network’s name is actually nailing the concept of a platform the best way possible. Adventures in Design is a place where inspiration, educational beats, and tons of entertainment are merged in one single network. There’s no place for mundane topics in a monotonous succession of dull discussions (the thing I vigorously avoid my whole life).

It was hard to pick the favs from 15 different shows on the AID, where they discuss literally anything, from branding and TV shows to nutrition, business, commercials and more. Nevertheless, I just can’t do without mentioning gorgeous Mark Brickey. The sense of humor he has and the original approach on his ‘Shop Talk’ freelancer’s show and ‘Disneyland for Designers’ are the elements of engaging content. Once I open their podcasts, it takes me an effort to stop!

The Honest Designers Show

I am a product creator, so the related chores interest me most. I read some blogs for general knowledge — or to stay tuned with the industry. For the professional insights, however, I prefer The Honest Designers Show. That’s a podcast introduced by Design Cuts to help us make sense of the design business and sort out in the issues we face daily or even more often.

The speakers have picked their teeth with designing and selling their works as well as dealing with customers and competitors. They also come with worthy advice on building a personal brand, growing in confidence, and driving the inspiration in the right direction. I can’t figure out if there is a matter they have missed. And still, The Honest Designers go live regularly — and every week there is something fresh and captivating to listen on my way to the office and then bring as a discussing topic to my teammates.

Creative Prep Talk

When I first opened the Creative Prep Talk page, I was stricken by the colorful, eye-catching design, which conquered my illustrator heart at first sight. That was the time when I discovered an extremely-talented Andy J. Pizza. He involves his creativity by drawing new covers for every podcast episode he releases and changing them with a jaunty mood. Andy invites many interesting guests who share their experience, answer questions, and discuss some personal sides of their life.

For those creators, who’re facing challenges with inspiration or getting through the lack of ideas or motivation crisis, Andy shares his “first aid podcast” help. ‘Defeat burnout and get stoked out of your mind about making stuff again!’ is the thing I keep advising to some of my colleagues when they feel close to apathy caused by work and succession of projects. Also, it’s convenient to have reference links under each podcast, you know, to be closer to the discussion.

Greyscalegorilla

I am so knowledge-hungry, that soon will have to take new podcasts intravenously 😅. I might have made a list, but since they asked me for one, let it be Greyscalegorilla, which meets my motion designer’s needs.

Truth be told, I am not the most disciplined here, so I tend to listen to the issues randomly. I can feel like some general design matters or business — or pro tips, talks, insights, opinions. In both cases, Nick Campbell and the folks do a great job.

You are gonna find the podcast handy if you are a motion designer working in Cinema4D, After Effects and searching for some help for your project (never know where the backup will come from). Or if you like making things move. Or if you are a podcast maniac like me. Or just because the speakers are lots of fun. Anyway.

Overtime by Dribbble

Well, I think when it comes to studying and education-related sources, it’s important to trust reliable platforms. That’s why I chose Dribbble Overtime among any others. Listening to glorious authors, who’ve already made their way to the top with their impressing portfolios is very convincing. Credibility is precious!

I can also discover new creators to follow, thanks to Overtime. Oh, and the transcripts they have under each episode help out a lot! I’ve caught myself putting down some key moments several times while listening so as to check them out later, and only then I realize that everything is already down there. I could have just copied it! 😄 Being able to get the substantial info in any convenient form is a sheer pleasure.

Design Matters

I can’t follow a person if there is no personal contact between us. I need us to be bonded mentally, have similar values, views, tastes. So the artists I follow on Instagram or Dribbble or Unsplash should produce something more than just quality content. Same about podcasts.

Debbie Millman, apart from her great achievements and merits in the creative industry, feels like my soulmate, and I am so in love with every interview she runs. The way she treats the details. The guests she interviews — more than just graphic designers, but also writers, musicians, psychologists, artists, bloggers, photographers, educators. Same with topics: tips, creativity, motivation, social issues, psychology. Again, very personal and complex, in the best sense.

The Designest Podcast

Oh, and there is one more, The Designest podcast! It features audio versions of most of our articles (maybe this one too 😉). If you are too busy or lazy for reading, it’s a great idea to stay tuned with us. We also have in mind launching a talk show there, and let the force of the skies help us do it someday.

We hope there’s been some convergence of our favorite podcasts. Alternatively, we’ll be happy if while coming through our top-8 you find your best-match podcast — or leave some more recommendations which would be just great. Anyway, have fun listening, exploring, and sharing!

--

--

The Designest
The Designest

The Designest editorial account. We’re about design. Naturally.