​My New Year Resolution for 2020: Be Grateful for My Fails

Ksenia Pedchenko
The Designest
Published in
4 min readJan 3, 2020
illustrations by Ouch.pics

​​The success isn’t a speedy thing, and that’s something that I can’t get used to.

​​You know that feeling: you work hard, make your maximum. But nothing happens. Absolutely nothing. Zero. And the worst thing is that it’s okay. Yet, it wasn’t so obvious for me until I failed once again with my writing – and out of sudden, I realized it was fine. And I was fine. Moreover, I suddenly knew where I was moving, and my feelings were not hurt at that time.

​​Every time it’s the first time

​​True, most things you do you actually do for the first time. And everyone does. Even if you’ve packed yourself with tons of guides, skills, and support – you’re still a pioneer with your unique way and experience. Like I have been copywriting for years, and I wish I made no bones about the stuff I write. But well, no.

​​With every new article or a simple piece of copy, I have to take risks. With every artwork, the designers from my team also have to take risks — of course, they know the market, but it isn’t an anti-fail charm. Same with any team, any writer, illustrator, developer — even the high rollers like Procreate or Adobe aren’t 100% sure about the success of every new product or update they launch (they just won’t tell you about that).

​​Just don’t be overconfident

​​Please, don’t get me wrong. It’s great to be motivated. And it sucks to be overconfident with all those moony expectations and plans for the money & fame you’ll immediately have.

​​For this reason, try not to get carried away by motivation blogs. I did once, and I blamed myself so hard for not being able to meet the expectations and be as successful and as those successful motivators. The point is that you’ll never have all the truth about all the efforts they’ve put into it. And if they ever have. And if it was hard. Basically, all you know what they tell you — and the story of success should always look flawless.

​​If something works for someone, it doesn’t mean it will work for you. Accept it and try again. Make some adjustments. And try again. You can’t say ‘I give up’ unless you succeed or made at least a billion attempts. It won’t be simple, and you may not be rewarded for quite a while, but that’s how things work.

Share a fail, so it’s less painful

You should not be alone. It sounds weird from the first sight – but nothing wrong with it, though. Find yourself a person to share everything you got on your mind – ideas, hopes, fears, and tears. It may be your mom or someone from Tinder. The idea that shared drama is less painful. And shared joy gives you twice more. ​​

​​It helps me a lot to know there is a person who believes in me – so I’m already stronger. And can freely cry on the shoulder, which is my best way to come through emotional distress.

Don’t seek passion but love

​​To fail and do wrong is the way to progress. It’s painful and hard to go through it, but if you keep up, you’ll be finally rewarded. And if you love what you do – probably, that’s the very thing that doesn’t let me under when I fail. Or lost. Or everything I do sucks.

​​If you don’t love what you do, you better quit. Life is too short to waste it on breaking yourself and trying to be the one you are not. It’s gonna be so hard – just believe a person who did the teacher’s work and doubted every single day, whether it was worth it.

​​You’re keen to do carpentry, instead of journalistics? So what’re you waiting for? Wanna become a digital illustrator but work as an accountant in the office? Well, will you have another life to live it the way you want? Even if you fail today, tomorrow and the day after, you know you’re be doing the very thing you love. And then you’ll keep trying.

​​Everyone’s making meaningful resolutions for the New Year. Like giving up smoking. Eating healthily. Starting saving up. Or making up more. But the best resolution you can ever make is to start accepting your fails, ‘cause there’ll be millions of them or even more – and you should be ready to meet them and convert into the precious experience. Not something that’ll break or stop you.

​​

--

--

Ksenia Pedchenko
The Designest

Tell design tales and hope to marry Henry Cavill someday. Author in The Designest and copyright activist in Pixelbuddha