Photo by Tim Marshall on Unsplash

What it REALLY takes to become a web developer ? (and get your first job)

An honest return of experience of how I accompanied a dozen of people to become web developers

Tech - RubyCademy
5 min readDec 13, 2020

--

During my journey as a developer, I helped 3 of my friends to become developer. One was a former history teacher while the 2 others worked as accountant in the same firm.

In this post, I’ll share how I helped them to become web developer (using Ruby on Rails) and get their first job as a developer!

Why Ruby on Rails?

I’m a senior Ruby on Rails developer. So, obviously it was easier for me to teach them the arcanes of web development through this web framework.

But there is a way more interesting reason behind the fact that I made them learn this framework. The reason is that Ruby on Rails is based on the Ruby language which is a very easy programming language to learn. Indeed, the mantra of Ruby is Developer happiness first. And it achieves this goal by providing a syntax very close to English.

list_cart unless @cart.include? 'pineapple'

Here, we can read this code as following:

List the content of the cart unless the cart includes a pineapple.

--

--