THE DIARIST EXPEREINCES

Making Friends Overseas

How is this actually done?

Published in
4 min readFeb 23, 2024

--

Photo by Priscilla Du Preez 🇨🇦 on Unsplash

What I’ve learned as a globetrotter: 23rd of February 2024

The friends you make overseas are the best friends you will ever have, (apart from your best friends back home — equal love).

What I’ve always loved about overseas friendships is how quickly you become close, how quickly you begin to rely on each other, and how quickly you feel like family.

In three days or less, you could have a new best friend.

But how????

Let me share with you my advice:

  1. Say, “Hi.”

I’ll be honest, I don’t know any other way of doing it.

If someone says “Hi” to you this should be your response:

“Yes.”

Okay, not exactly.

So, you see someone across the room from you. They’re unpacking their things, they look smelly and tired, but most of all they look like a protentional friend.

Photo by Sasha Matveeva on Unsplash

--

--

Livvy Skelton-Price
The Diarist

Owner of Sense with Cents. Columnist for The Diarist. Follow the tag 'The Netherlands Diaries.' I write about travel and budgets.