On a Journey to a More Polished Life: One Card at a Time

Jasmine Flowers
The Diarist
3 min readJan 7, 2024

--

The first step I am taking to achieve a more polished life

Photo by Vladimir Yelizarov on Unsplash

Deep Thoughts and Progress: January 7th 2024

As I journey through my twenties, I am slowly finding more ways to become more polished for my future self. I wracked my brain for weeks trying to see what steps I could take to refine myself. One day, an idea popped into my head that I simply could not shy away from: mailing cards to my loved ones.

Photo by Razvan Dumitrasconiu on Unsplash

I began purchasing Thank You cards and mailing them to my family.

I would thank them for assisting me with the smallest of tasks, coming for a visit, or helping me move into my new abode. I even mailed a Thank You card to a law enforcement officer who aided me during a distressing time. I felt nothing but pure joy expressing my gratitude toward people going above and beyond to assist me.

Soon after the Thank You cards came the birthday cards and the holiday cards. My biggest issue with the birthday cards was remembering everyone’s birthday. This is something that I would like to improve in the new year.

The final set of cards that I found myself giving out are my least favorite: sympathy cards. Although letting my loved ones know that I am sorry for their loss and that I will be there for them in their time of grief, I dislike the reality of them having to experience such a loss. I even considered purchasing a pack of sympathy cards to have on standby; however, I cannot bring myself to do it. Keeping a collection of sympathy cards would strike me as absolutely morbid even though death is one of the few things that is promised in life.

I even mailed a Thank You card to a law enforcement officer who aided me during a distressing time.

Photo by Ranurte on Unsplash

In the midst of mailing all of the cards, I received personalized address labels. The receipt of such a small gift may be trivial to most people, but I was ecstatic to finally have them in my possession. Being able to place one of these labels on an envelope makes me feel like I am headed in the right direction with cultivating a more polished life. I use these labels each time the opportunity presents itself. Writing my address out is now a thing of the past.

I am of the belief mailing cards is an act of love. I do not mind taking time from my hectic schedule to make a card out to someone and mail it. In fact, it is the highlight of my day. I love knowing the person on the other end is going to receive a piece of mail letting them know I am thinking about them.

Sending these cards is something that I would like to keep doing as I continue on my journey to achieving a more polished life. I wonder what else I can do to help me get there…

Do you have something to write about you think would be welcomed here at The Diarist? Check out the submissions page — let’s see it! Follow us for personal Diarist’s entries that will have you hooked!

--

--

Jasmine Flowers
The Diarist

Just a woman navigating these 20-somethings one day at a time. She/Her/Hers