I Am Not Looking Forward to New Year’s Day

I don’t think it’s a special day anymore

Jennifer
The Digital Journals
2 min readDec 27, 2021

--

A cat sad about the holidays
A photo by alexaphotoua on Adobe Stock

I used to look forward to New Year’s Day, because I would be ready to make New Year’s resolutions and changes in my life. I would be excited to watch the Big Ball drop and celebrate with my family and friends. However, at the moment, I am not looking forward to this festive day for a couple of reasons.

I’ve realized that New Year’s Day is not a magical day

New Year’s Day used to be the beginning of new habits and goals for me; I would create a list of resolutions and mentally prepare for a new phase.

Now, I am not planning on watching the ball drop on television or creating a list of new goals. I’ve acknowledged that I don’t have to put pressure on myself and expect New Year’s Day to create a magical feeling. I’m going to take my time on creating my goals and coming up with practical resolutions. I’m going to treat New Year’s Day like any other day.

The festive days are over

Between October and December, there are several holidays to look forward to; after the first day of January, we don’t have many exciting holidays to look forward to. I will miss the long vacation days and family traditions that we celebrated during the winter holidays. New Year’s Day is a reminder that we will have to wait another year for these activities.

People will begin to take down their flashy decorations on this day and go back to normal life. Personally, I’ve always felt somber watching my neighbors take down their beautiful Christmas trees.

I don’t mean to create a depressing post about New Year’s Day; I don’t think this day is more special than other days.

--

--