May Have Happened

Firnita
The Digital Journals
3 min readMay 31, 2022

--

A while ago, I scrolled my phone gallery to see whether I was living. Turns out, the photos that took up my space were downloaded pictures for a social media account of my 9–5 job. I barely see personal memories between those photos. Not even selfies nor silly screenshots from conversations with friends. Recognizing that, I felt like a dormant human being. Yes, I’m breathing but it’s the same air over and over again. Fortunately, the circumstances lately supported me to breathe more air in different atmospheres. So, I went out.

Then, some things may have happened in May. It was a series of reunions with a lot of friends, habits, and feelings. I met not just a friend, but a group of friends. Plural.

Things finally felt familiar again. Despite the masks, I was not afraid to show my (not-so) post-pandemic personality. I didn’t go back to old habits when I met friends from a certain phase. Despite the distance, I felt closer to them. Months of literally and figuratively isolated is a collective memory we may have shared again.

It’s not really a mega bucket list, but I finally met people I befriended online. At first, it felt kind of odd since we always spent our time through chats and google meets. But seeing them sitting in front of me, holding cups of coffee, and having to hear their voice without delays were just fascinating. This experience made me want to meet the so-called internet strangers.

I participated in several ticket wars. It’s been more than a year since the last time I do that. Yet, my muscle memories seem to store its habit and strategies so well that I succeed purchase six tickets for two different events. That said, I will be going to offline events soon. Normal. Things are more normal recently and I hope it stays like this — or even better: things shall get better.

Took an MRT ride last week. My feet found their way to step back on the stairs. For sure, there were new things implemented, but feelings-wise, it was all good. The voice-over inside the train was no longer a woman. There were new announcements all over the station regarding pandemic precautions. New ways to pay for the trip, but I used my old card. It’s such a relief to know I still have some money inside the old MRT card. Felt like I’ve been saving up although it’s not a big amount.

MRT Fatmawati, Jakarta. (Personal documentation)

I definitely can see myself readapting with my old routines. Wandering around, befriending the business of the day, taking five minutes to stare at the tree in the midst of the concrete jungle, whatever it is, I think I’m ready to make it happen again. Things may have happened in May and may more normal things happen in the future.

--

--

Firnita
The Digital Journals

usually, i write more than this short bio. say hi through my ig/tw: @firnnita