Over-intellectualizing Self-help: Do not forget to do the Work

Norman Brenner
The Digital Journals
2 min readNov 13, 2021
https://www.pexels.com/

“A person who thinks all the time has nothing to think about except thoughts. So he loses touch with reality & lives in a world of illusion.” Alan Watts

I like to think. I also have a longing to pursue activities on the path to self-actualization. There is nothing wrong with that. However, I often forget to “do the work.”

Years ago, in trying to overcome some difficulties, I read Dr. Mark Epstein’s excellent “Going to Pieces Without Falling Apart.” His blend of Freudian psychoanalysis (at least I think that is what it was?) and Buddhist philosophy sent me on a now eight-year or so self-study and practice into Buddhism and its various offshoots. Unfortunately, the study part greatly exceeded the practice. I have read more books and listened to more podcasts and lectures on Buddhism than I can remember. I do maintain an on-again-off-again meditation practice, but it is inadequate. I need more balance (the fact many teachers call Buddhism the “middle-way” should have been a hint…).

I will spend weeks reading about running and crafting a detailed and impeccable running schedule only to fail in the most critical aspect of the plan: actually running more.

My shelves are littered (not that they are trash!) with books on writing. Name it, and I probably have it. Nevertheless, I hardly ever write. Well, until now, of course.

My pursuits haven’t been in vain. I have overcome some adversity, accomplished some goals, and wrote this article, but I cannot help but think I am leaving a lot on the table.

Self-help for the sake of self-help is pointless. It is like reading the menu but never getting to the meal. Thinking is hugely valuable, but do not let it become an obstacle or distraction. Even an excuse not to get your hands dirty. Eventually, we all have to do the work: sit on that cushion, go for a run, write that book.

--

--