Why I Choose To Keep My Writing A Secret From My Family And Friends.

JulieMarieWrites
The Digital Journals
4 min readNov 7, 2021

--

Anxiety plays a huge part!!!

Image by expresswriters from Pixabay

You might have read that title and thought, what a load of rubbish. I mean this girl has her picture and her name on her profile it’s not exactly a big secret. However, hold on and hear me out……

Everybody I know has no idea I write online. My partner knows a teeny bit about my work on medium, but he doesn’t know the full extent of it. He knows I’m in charge of two publications and that I post all your amazing work each day.

What he doesn’t know is that I also write my own stories, and there’s a reason for this, I’m not hiding it to be nasty or secretive, it’s just the opposite.

It's because I'm anxious and embarrassed as hell.

It blows my mind when I receive such kind and thoughtful comments on my stories because I convince myself that It could be better, and I worry that there will be somebody out there that hates it, and wouldn’t think twice to tell me so.

I know that not everyone will agree with what I’ve written, and people will have different opinions. Some will like it, and some will not. However, it’s still sitting in the back of my mind and making me feel utterly anxious to know that not everybody will like something I’ve worked so hard on.

--

--

JulieMarieWrites
The Digital Journals

I write about mental health, life, writing tips and more. 1x Top writer in internet of things. Reach me at justjulieandherblog@gmail.com