I Want To Buy Your Soul

Ash Tapia
The Digital Nomad
Published in
2 min readMay 22, 2012

If you ask anyone what it means to be an atheist, you will probably get a lot of different replies:

  • I don’t believe in God or the Soul
  • I don’t believe in the meta-physical
  • We are just food for worms ~this one is my favourite by a long shot!

There are many different answers, but most of them revolve around the fact that people don’t believe in God or other super-natural manifestations.

THE CHALLENGE

Over the last 3 days, I have been asking atheists if they will sell their soul to me. I want them to sign a legal contract on stamp paper for the sale of a competitive intangible asset in exchange for monetary compensation.

The reasoning being that if you don’t believe in the concept of a Soul, it should be easy enough for you to sell what you don’t have in return for some free money.

THE ROADBLOCKS

Most conversations have gone this way:

No one will sell me their soul

Here are some of the things people tell me when I want to buy their soul:

  • Why do you want my Soul and what will you do with it?
  • I don’t believe in the concept of a Soul. How can I sell you what I don’t have?
  • I want 1 million dollars for my Soul.
  • This contract is illegal and not enforceable by law.

MY LOGIC

If you don’t believe in the Soul, you should have absolutely no problem selling thin air to me for any sum of money, even if am giving you Rs. 500. Consequently, you shouldn’t even be bothered about if the contract is enforceable by law!

I am still trying to find someone who will sell their Soul to me. I think it might be useful to own two Souls. I don’t know what that will do to me, but I am willing to find out.

--

--