The Bit.ly Click Summary of 5000 Organic Clicks in a Month

Ash Tapia
The Digital Nomad
Published in
1 min readDec 23, 2009

I manage two small sized twitter accounts apart from my own personal one at @Asfaq — @E71 and @AndroidTalk. These accounts are used to bring out all the news on the Nokia E71 phone (which I own) and the Android OS.

I have been using Bit.ly to shorten hyperlinks of articles that I find interesting for a while now and the service has evolved into a very robust tool over time. The biggest advantage of using Bit.ly is that it provides analytics support for short URLs in a way that leaves competition far behind.

I was looking at a month’s data fro November 2009 from my Bit.ly account’s Click Summary and noticed some interesting stats and figures!

The figures above just show that twitter is a great platform to use if you want to spread info quickly and to a large number of people.

For me, it was interesting to see that most clicks don’t originate out of India. That could be attributed due to the fact that the Android and E71 accounts update mostly during the night in India and therefore visibility on those accounts is low in the region. Also, the Registered Applications column under Referrers Detail refers to the Seesmic and Tweetdeck twitter clients.

Its brilliant to see this kind of analytics support from a free tool like Bit.ly, lets hope the new year brings more goodies along the way!

Much love,
- Asfaq

--

--