The Power of Lucid Dreaming

Ash Tapia
The Digital Nomad
Published in
2 min readAug 23, 2012
The Matrix

When dreaming, have you ever been in a situation where you are aware that it is a dream? Have you ever tried to shape the course of the dream and perform actions in the dream out of your own free will? Apparently, psychologists refer to this state of the mind as Lucid Dreaming.

According to Wikipedia,

A lucid dream is any dream in which one is aware that one is dreaming. In a lucid dream, the dreamer may be able to exert some degree of control over their participation within the dream or be able to manipulate their imaginary experiences in the dream environment. Lucid dreams can be realistic and vivid.

Lucid dreaming has been researched scientifically, and its existence is well established.

The first memory I have of being aware in a lucid dream was memorable,

I am actually a Vegeta fan

to say the least. It was a dream in which I was Mario and I was controlling my actions and movements! I actually took myself to Super Saiyan level before performing a Spirit bomb move to annihilate all beings in the level! It was surreal and to this day, one of my best dreams.

I am currently trying to channel lucid dreaming for other purposes. Every time I am aware I am dreaming, I start thinking of things that I need to solve. This has sometimes helped me find interesting solutions to problems that have been hard to crack when awake.

I must confess however, that it is difficult to become aware of oneself when dreaming and problem solving is not always fool-proof, but with practise I can definitely say that am getting better at it.

I think lucid dreaming can make it easier to face your fears and gain inner confidence. While that is easier said than done, my dream diary has proved to me without doubt that with practise, this state can be achieved and practiced more regularly for better results.

Have you ever been self-aware in a dream? What was your experience with it?

--

--