What Should You Take Pictures Of?

Look Around. What Do You See?

Darryl Brooks
The Digital Photographer

--

As a photographer, you will reach this point many times. What do I shoot? I don’t have anything to take pictures of.

But here’s the thing. It’s happened to me enough times that I know it’s a load of crap.

There are always things to take pictures of. You just have to see them. To see them, you have to look. And to be able to look, you have to practice looking.

All the time.

Stop reading this article. Just for a minute — I want you to finish it.

Look around without moving from your chair and make a list of things you could shoot.

I do stock photography, so I take pictures of many things most people wouldn’t think of. But bear with me.

Look around. While you’re doing that, I’m going to look around my office.

Here are the things I see.

  • A pile of paper overflowing my shred box. Illustrates shredding, environment, recycling, waste.
  • A wall-mounted charging station full of LED lights and cables. Illustrates technology, power, cabling.
  • An antique armoire full of great details.
  • My new guitar, good for at least a dozen images

--

--

Darryl Brooks
The Digital Photographer

Photographer & Writer-I shoot what I see-I write what I feel. Top writer in Photography, Art, Creativity, Productivity, Self Improvement, Business, Life Lessons