What To Use For Photography Backgrounds

Without Spending a Lot

Darryl Brooks
The Digital Photographer

--

Every hobby has its particular gear and equipment. And if it is a profession, rather than a hobby, then, for the most part, you need to buy professional equipment. But for the hobbyist, and to a certain degree, even professionals, can get just as good results with gear that doesn’t carry the professional price tag.

I used to ride motorcycles. And of course, there is plenty of gear to be had. And just like with photography, the saying is, you can’t have too many bags. But a bag that has motorcycle in the name will start at close to $100 and the sky’s the limit. But find a similar bag that you can adapt to a bike, and you spend a fraction of the cost.

Here’s an example in photography. When I first started, besides my trusty nifty-fifty, I had two lenses; a 24–105 and a 70–200. The shorter zoom was usually on the camera, but I wanted the other zoom to be handy. Lens cases run about the same price as motorcycle bags. So, I went to REI (not known for bargain prices) and found an insulated water bottle case for about $5. It had a belt loop and a safety catch. It was insulated, which means it was padded and had a zippered top, easy to open and close with one hand. It fit my 70–200 perfectly and saved me at least $50.

--

--

Darryl Brooks
The Digital Photographer

Photographer & Writer-I shoot what I see-I write what I feel. Top writer in Photography, Art, Creativity, Productivity, Self Improvement, Business, Life Lessons