BEHIND THE SCENES of SURFER GIRL by Leslye Headland with Jessica Pimentel​

The FINAL PERFORMANCES of SURFER GIRL close out with ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK’s Jessica Pimentel. We asked her about her thoughts on sloth, sins, and couch surfing.

Elizabeth Sarkady
The Dirty Blondes
5 min readMay 24, 2018

--

By featuring eight actresses under the direction of four different directors across its 16 performances, we aim to give each performance of SURFER GIRL a unique interpretation of the same sin, sloth. No matter what social class, geopolitical demographic, race or sexual preference, by contrasting our differences and highlighting our similarities, the company hopes this production will serve to emphasize how the human struggle is ultimately the same regardless of these differences, and how we as humans are all susceptible to the same “sins.”

Jessica Pimentel talks about sloth, sin and Surfer Girl

What does the idea of ‘sloth’ as a sin mean to you?

Sloth… the sneakiest of the seven deadly sins and hardest for me to grasp. While all the other sins involve some intense, extreme, uncontrollable emotion or action, sloth is the sin of doing nothing. It is extremely subtle, calculating and quiet. In that nothing the sinner destroys herself and all those around her with lack of action or caring. The sin of sloth creates a Karmic vacuum. By constantly taking and consuming while planting parasitic seeds into one’s consciousness it ensures that one’s mental state and quality of life will only degenerate. One does not merely engage in the practice of sloth but it slowly creeps in, envelops your being and becomes who you are. The more one indulges sloth, the more the core character of a person is changed, plunging them further into laziness, dullness, apathy, detachment and loss of empathy and self-respect. Sloth is a waste. A waste of your rare and precious life and time on Earth; A waste of your talents and abilities; A waste of endless possibility. A killer of hope.

How do you think your character in the play is guilty of this sin?

Girl has dedicated her life on sponging off the needs of others to serve her lack of ambition and direction. There are several moments when she can extend herself emotionally and morally to help resolve pain and reverse negative karma but she chooses to do nothing and allows things to happen to her while taking zero responsibility for what repercussions her lack of speaking up or active participation may cause in the moment and in the future both for herself and for those around her.

How has sloth played a role in your life / what do you identify with the most with this character?

Sloth is counter-intuitive to my nature. I was raised to be independent and self-reliant. Almost shamefully so when it comes to asking for help. I am someone who has just been prescribed 5 days bed rest by my doctor. I have anxiety attacks when I know there’s work to be done and the thought of missing an opportunity because I took a day off or decided to sleep in makes me nauseous. I work hard till my body gives in and makes me take pause. But I do understand the lure of it. When in those pauses, which I call “the wallow”, I won’t leave my bed or couch for days and the rest of the house stays dark. I completely unplug from the outside world. I fall in and out of sleep to documentaries. I allow myself to sleep deep enough to dream. I use that time to absorb information. I allow myself to deal with feelings I have pushed aside because I didn’t have time or to let myself deal with them. I let myself cry. I let my imagination run free. I don’t pass time, I just live without trying to change anything around me. Just be. Become furniture. Do the bare minimum to survive. This is where I understand the character. She takes pleasure and comfort in things imperceptible to most. She has no plans beyond today. She wallows in listlessness. She appreciates her interaction and human contact but keeps it at a bare minimum. She insulates her emotions so much that when things become complicated she runs. She seeks calm safety. She understands the detriment of social media and how it can devalue the moment. She is not an active catalyst but an observer who tries to blend in with her surroundings and becomes what is needed be it a confidant, a lover, a friend, a helper or just company she pushes herself down to let others shine thus securing her place in the cocoon.

Have you ever had to stay on someone else’s couch?

Couch surfing is a very integral part of a young traveling musician’s life. I have made some of the greatest friends and memories travelling around the country with a band, staying in the homes of strangers who later become friends, and friends who become family, who we will visit again and again over the years while “on the road”. Mostly, it is the couch owner who is showing kindness and appreciation for what we do and the miles we have come to bring them some joy and the couch/floor/spare room was a form of repayment. For those nights, stories and safe places and fascinating people, I am forever grateful.

What is your favorite line of the show?

It’s amazing what you’re capable of … when you do nothing.

The past performers of Surfer Girl

See Jessica Pimentel in the final performances of SURFER GIRL ​May 29th and 30th
Directed by Noah Himmelstein

The New York Premiere of SURFER GIRL is presented by Animus Theatre Company in association with The Dirty Blondes.

Every Tuesday & Wednesday
April 10 — May 30
The Foley Gallery
59 Orchard Street
New York, New York 10002

For tickets and more information visit thedirtyblondes.org

--

--