The Dirty Dozen May Installment: Part 4

The Playwright Picks: Ashley’s favorite things

Hannah Lemkowitz
The Dirty Blondes
3 min readJun 1, 2017

--

Picture of Ashley During Tech

Tomorrow is the day! June 1- Marilyn Monroe’s birthday, Anne Boleyn was crowned Queen of England, and HOW TO BE SAFE opens at The Kraine Theater. Since we have been in tech mode, we decided to give Ashley’s idle hands something to do and asked her to give us some advice. Check out her recommendations below, and don’t forget to buy your tickets to How To Be Safe.

  1. WHAT PLAY SHOULD WE READ THIS MONTH?

I’m going to read JOHN by Annie Baker. I never got to see the production but I remember everyone going nuts over it.

2) WHAT SHOW SHOULD WE GO SEE TOMORROW (besides How To Be Safe, of course)

INDECENT. Paula Vogel — it’s the most incredible thing I’ve seen in a very long time. Every single detail is perfect.

3) I’M BORED OF THEATER, WHAT SHOULD I BINGE ON NETFLIX?

Black Mirror. Incredible storytelling and creativity.

4) SINCE FRINGE IS ON A BREAK, WHERE SHOULD I GET MY THEATER FESTIVAL FIX?

Planet Connections Theatre Festivity! It’s what helped launch The Dirty Blondes and every single show benefits a charity. Theater + activism = everything I love.

4) HOW DO YOU GET OVER WRITERS BLOCK?

Listening to music and letting my mind wander — then typing out whatever nonsense pops into my head. Once I’m actually doing the physical activity of writing, my brain usually comes around later. I might have some pages of jibberish at first, but eventually I find my way.

5) WHAT DO YOU THINK IS THE HARDEST AND EASIEST PART OF WRITING A SCRIPT?

PLOT! I usually start with a really good idea of who my characters are and then I have no idea what they actually need to DO. Plot is the hardest thing for me. I usually have to throw out a lot of pages once I figure out what the story actually is. If I don’t create an outline before I start writing, it’s a nightmare.

6) WHAT PART OF HTBS ARE YOU MOST EXCITED ABOUT, AND WHAT PART ARE YOU SECRETLY DREADING?

Most excited about: the actors! These are some of the smartest actors I’ve ever worked with. Their questions and interpretations have helped me understand the play so much more and have also led to some really incredible rewrites. They are so good. I just love watching them.

Most stressed about: Maybe everything tech? I freak out over what I can’t control and everything tech related is entirely out of my hands. We have an incredible SM and technical team so there’s no NEED to stress, but I can’t help it. A dropped sound cue could break my heart.

7) I NEED MORE FEMINIST THEATER, WHERE SHOULD I GO?

Spicy Witch Productions is a great one, as well as some theater companies that are co-led by women like Smoke & Mirrors and Theater in Asylum.

xoxo ❤

The Dirty Blondes

--

--