DIY

Arts, Crafts, Publishing, Indie Biz, and Dry Shampoo

A blockbuster week at The DIY Diaries

Amanda Laughtland
The DIY Diaries
Published in
5 min readJun 19, 2022

--

an original Blockbuster video membership card
photo by author

When I clean even a small area of my house, I sometimes find little surprises like my old Blockbuster Video membership card. My nostalgia meter kicked into high gear when I found this a few months ago, so I took a photo as that allowed me to appreciate and share the memory while also letting go of the object I no longer need.

I plan to go through more of my trove of stuff this summer, so who knows what else I might find? I’ve been having fun by writing about some of my finds online, such as this poem of mine that appeared in a poetry magazine from Austin, Texas back in 1998.

I shared another of my finds in The DIY Diaries this week, when I photographed the complete text of an eight-page mini-zine I published in collaboration with an artist friend in 2007.

But enough about me! This week we received submissions from four lovely writers, two of whom were publishing here for the first time, and two of whom will be familiar to…

--

--

Amanda Laughtland
The DIY Diaries

Poet, teacher, & zinester. I started The DIY Diaries because I love to read about DIY ideas and projects; I invite you to send us your stories!