Family

Thoughts as My Dad Made a Most Unusual Drink

A DIY story with a bigger idea

Monica Ray, M.Ed, MS
The DIY Diaries
Published in
5 min readMar 26, 2024

--

A bael fruit on a walnut table.
A lone and unusual fruit on a table (credit: Monica Ray)

In February, I went to India on a microcation (a leisure vacation lasting less than five nights).

One sunny morning, after jet lag was conquered, I woke up earlier than usual and was enjoying a cup of Darjeeling tea, when I found my Dad in the dining room, quietly gathering some glasses, basic kitchen utensils, and a local fruit called bael.

Bael, Aegle Marmelos (L.)

The word bael sounds like bell but with an emphasis on the “e” to make a longer, short “e” sound (I hope that makes sense). I jumped at this opportunity to document the process and indulge in nostalgia.

As a child in India, I used to drink homemade bael juice on most weekends. I loved its cooling, pulpy texture and sweet taste. The best way I can describe its taste is that of a cross between oranges and melons mashed together.

When ripe, the shell of a bael is a dirty yellow color and as hard as a pomegranate. The flesh inside is soft and pulpy. The fruit is the size of a large grapefruit. You can see the fruit in the featured image above.

--

--

Monica Ray, M.Ed, MS
The DIY Diaries

Top and Boosted Writer. I write food/travel pieces centered around the UK, India, and the US. I also cover writing. Follow me on Instagram @monicaonthemoveray