DIY Rice Paper and 7 Ways to Use It

I make a lot of my own craft supplies with what I have at home. Homemade rice paper is semi-translucent craft paper that feels like very thin textured vellum.

Celeste Wilson
The DIY Diaries

--

Image and art by the author Celeste Wilson

Don’t Throw Your Unused Napkins Away

I decoupage napkins to pages in my journal simply because I like the pictures.

I often buy a pack or two at the thrift store. They are typically leftovers from a wedding or birthday party.

Most napkins are made from 2-ply tissue paper. I remove the white backing before I decoupage the printed side.

This leaves me with a bunch of white single ply napkin tissues.

Don’t throw them out.

Make Your Own Rice Paper

Lay your white tissue on a sheet of plastic.

Mix a tablespoon of instant coffee with around 4 tablespoons of white liquid glue and 4 tablespoons of water. Shake it well.

Use a soft brush and apply the coffee glue to the napkin. Be careful, it tears easily. Make more glue mix if you run out. My measurements are approximate.

--

--

Celeste Wilson
The DIY Diaries

Owner - A Novel Book Review Publication, Co-editor - Share Your Creativity Publication. Author - YA Fantasy Fiction. My You Tube Channel - A Crafter's Story