Halloween DIY Part Three: Experimenting with Doll Hair

To dye or not to dye? That is the question

E. Katherine Kottaras
The DIY Diaries

--

Selene of the Silver Moon, doll & photo by writer

Over the past few months, I’ve delightfully creepified nine horror dolls — and I’m in the middle of working on two more (and there are more waiting their turns!)

With that, I’d like to walk you through my steps as well as offer some tips in case you decide that you’d like to create your own horror doll(s)!

This is the third in a series on how to make Horror Dolls:

Today, I’ll be focusing on doll hair:

Step 1: Realize that Doll Hair Is Not Human Hair

I remember washing my Barbie’s hair with Suave, but one of my very first lessons when I started researching how to care for doll hair for Horror Dolls is…

--

--

E. Katherine Kottaras
The DIY Diaries

(she/they) queer contemplative writer, holistic teacher, multimedia artist, homeschooling parent, co-author of A RAINBOW INSIDE MY BODY (Viking, 24) & more