DIY

Homemade Pride: Just Add Rainbows

Low-key ways to celebrate LGBTQIA+ Pride month

Amanda Laughtland
The DIY Diaries
Published in
5 min readMay 26, 2022

--

a crow standing on a strip of rainbow colors
paper collage by the author

Attending a Pride event in person can be an incredibly affirming experience, especially when you’re just coming out. I didn’t know any out LGBTQ+ people when I was growing up, so the first time I attended Pride, I felt a sense of relief and connection because I was no longer the only one.

Pride events can also feel overwhelming because they tend to be crowded and loud. These days, some people crave a return to that kind of buzzing community feeling, while some would say it’s the last thing that they’d want.

Given ongoing concerns about the coronavirus, I think a lot of us aren’t looking to gather in crowds. But will it feel like June without some kind of acknowledgment of Pride?

What does celebrating Pride mean to you?

I’ve bought my share of Pride-themed items over the years, and I appreciate that some stores do a whole Pride collection. The greater commercialization of Pride has also meant more access to products that help people affirm their identities, like Target selling affordably priced compression bras with their Pride collection this year (though as my girlfriend pointed out, it would be even better if they sold these products year-round).

--

--

Amanda Laughtland
The DIY Diaries

Poet, teacher, & zinester. I started The DIY Diaries because I love to read about DIY ideas and projects; I invite you to send us your stories!