DIY

How to Be the Tortoise Who Wins the Race

And other tips from this week’s DIY Diaries

Amanda Laughtland
The DIY Diaries
Published in
5 min readMay 1, 2022

--

cut out magazine text that reads “you may have heard my story before” on a background with colorful cut-up magazine papers
paper collage by the author

It’s a pleasure to receive such a variety of stories for The DIY Diaries that I can’t adequately sum them up in the title of my weekly review. So I chose to mention the tortoise in the title, not only because one of the articles this week features a tortoise but also because I think the do-it-yourself theme is often related to the idea that “slow and steady wins the race.”

While others might hurry us, when we do things ourselves, we’re on our own terms and our own timeline. This has always appealed to me because my best work happens when I have time and space to think and reflect, rather than trying to rush to meet a deadline.

This spirit of following a meditative pace arises in Min L’s story about making a beaded rainbow necklace and finding relaxation through the process of focusing on the details of her project. Thanks, Min, for sharing your work; I always appreciate the feeling of kindness and community in your stories as well as your comments.

--

--

Amanda Laughtland
The DIY Diaries

Poet, teacher, & zinester. I started The DIY Diaries because I love to read about DIY ideas and projects; I invite you to send us your stories!