I Save Money By Not Going Grocery Shopping

Unless I REALLY need something

Mercedes O'Leary
The DIY Diaries

--

Photo by Marjan Blan | @marjanblan on Unsplash

Where I live in Alaska, groceries have always been expensive. Sometimes I’ve considered bringing an empty suitcase with me when I visit family out of state to fill with cheap dry goods.

Anytime I’m in Anchorage, the big city in Alaska and a five-hour drive from where I live, I stock up on as much as possible at Costco. I freeze bread, milk, and lunch meats. I pour 25 lbs of flour into buckets. I tell the kids to not eat the special snacks too fast, because I won’t be going to Costco again for a few months.

And then I don’t go to the grocery store until I absolutely have to.

Last weekend my family went salmon fishing.

Twenty-five salmon later, we stood at the fish cleaning tables at the harbor processing fish. My husband gutted and filleted, I removed the fish collars from the heads to barbecue for dinner that night, and my oldest daughter used a spoon to scrape any remaining meat from the ribs to make into salmon burgers.

(My younger daughter busied herself with feeding seagulls the scraps when no one was looking.)

We try not to waste anything from the fish.

We eat salmon all winter long, until I’m spoiled and bored, and think, “Not another…

--

--

Mercedes O'Leary
The DIY Diaries

Essays on being human, parenting, grief, and life in Alaska. MFA in poetry.