DIY

Mug Covers

Take that, flying pests!

Alicia Casner
The DIY Diaries
Published in
4 min readJan 19, 2024

--

On left a square of white fabric with pinked edges and on right a square of Americana fabric with pinked edges.
Photo by Author

I like to think I’m not only a crafter and creator of different mediums, but a Ms. MacGyver. So when the heat of summer was fading and all the ladybugs (I know these guys aren’t pests outdoors, indoors a whole other matter), gnats, and every other flying critter wanted to seek sanctuary inside our house, I had a problem. Well a lot of them, but the biggest being how to stop them from using my freshly brewed cup of tea as a sauna. I mean really, guys? A little bit of respect would be nice! You are seeking asylum from the lethal cold … and not even paying rent. Rude.

I digress.

Needless to say, as I work from home, spending a great deal of time in front of my computer, I require warm tea to keep me running during the darkest months of the year. Not gnat-flavored tea, thank you very much.

So how to keep them out?

Of course I could buy a cute, trendy mug cover, tea steamer, or whatever ya call them … but … here’s where the MacGyver genes just wouldn’t let me.

Then it hit me, around 2:45am on a random Tuesday. Isn’t that when all the best ideas kick in?

Tea cup covers from my fabric stash.

I call mugs tea cups … also mason jars and anything else I put tea in to drink from. I have

--

--

Alicia Casner
The DIY Diaries

Customer Care Maven by day, Wordsmith by night. I write about faith, God's beautiful creation, and more! Me online: https://linktr.ee/simply_ali_c