DIY

New Roll Out Drawers for an Old Kitchen Cabinet

Saving money and hassle with a DIY upgrade

Amanda Laughtland
The DIY Diaries
Published in
3 min readApr 29, 2022

--

a close up of a diagram showing how to assemble some drawers for small cabinets
a close-up from the instructions sent by Lynk, Inc

I remember taking a test in school that assessed our spatial abilities, like figuring out which way the last gear in a series of seven gears would turn. My score on this test was quite low. And the test was accurate: despite years of practice, I can never quite tell if my car will fit into a parking spot, or how to efficiently pack boxes or luggage, etc.

While my lack of spatial awareness limits some of my range in terms of DIY activities I want to take on independently, my girlfriend has strong spatial abilities and has been taking a look at affordable ways to improve the functionality of the cupboards in the kitchen of my 1950s-built house.

These cupboards manage to be both small and deep, such that it’s hard to reach or see what’s in the back. My default strategy has been to just keep what I use most in front, and periodically make a more careful search when I need to find, say, a tortilla warmer or waffle iron.

I had also been keeping the small to medium-sized glass and plastic storage containers that I use regularly for leftovers and other food storage in multiple places because I hadn’t figured out a designated space where I could fit them neatly into one cupboard. It wasn’t…

--

--

Amanda Laughtland
The DIY Diaries

Poet, teacher, & zinester. I started The DIY Diaries because I love to read about DIY ideas and projects; I invite you to send us your stories!