Quick Check-In

Stephanie Renée
The DNA Journey
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

2 min readFeb 6, 2024

Did you get my change of address form?

Photo by Daniel Jensen on Unsplash

Hey DNA Journey followers!

Wanted to pop in quickly to make sure you were all caught up on the changes that happened around here late last year.

Decided to pack my bags on the Medium version of this pub, and move it over to Substack! I prefer the set-up over there, which allows you to subscribe to me directly, instead of having to pay a monthly fee to read most people’s stories regardless of your interests. I have moved ALL of my DNA Journey posts over there, and I’ve written a few new ones that you may need to catch up on as well.

I also won a small consultant grant in 2023 that allowed me to hire a good friend to help me refine my grant proposal to fund the video version of this effort. I am happy to report that my ideas now have much better focus and direction, thanks to her guidance, and I have begun submitting the new proposal for a few pre-production grants this winter. Hoping to hear some more Yeses in the spring.

Other than that, I’ve been DEEP in the research side of things — again — and have filled in some significant fact gaps for some of my direct ancestors. Like, confirming the identity of one of my 3rd great-grandfathers and finding him enrolled at Howard University shortly after they opened their doors! Imagine my wide-eyed surprise and delight.

Well, actually, you don’t have to imagine…you can read about it on Substack.

So, get ye over to the new pub! There are free and paid options available, if you choose to support my work financially or not. But I would love to keep you in the loop on this work either way.

Wishing similar successes for those of you who are also on the journey with me. And if you’re just a curious passer-by, I hope you will scan through my essays and take a quick walk in my shoes, as I continue to learn more about who I am and the incredible stories of those from whom I come.

--

--

Stephanie Renée
The DNA Journey

Artsy chick. Certified nerd girl. Navigating the spaces of Black Excellence and global relevance. Support my other creative endeavors at www.StephanieRenee.com