Computing

Endless: A Great Solution to an Eternal PC Problem?

A resilient Linux-based OS (and computer) which makes a lot of sense

James Marinero, MSc, MBA
The Dock on the Bay
5 min readJan 27, 2023

--

Author screenshot from endlessos.org website

Endless has just announced that testing of Version 5 of their Endless OS distro has just commenced.

The story grabbed me because living on a boat as I do, I got heartily peed off with MS Windows. My bandwidth is often severely restricted and the endless bloatware updates were hammering me. The final nail was not being able to turn off automatic updates.

I was a Unix user way back (System V) and last year I bit the bullet and switched my 3 laptops to Linux Mint (Cinnamon) after decades of Microsoft. I had to set one of them as dual boot because some of the programs I need on my boat are Windows only.

Anyway, I felt that I’d finally got my life back.

Except that this dual-boot laptop has a power management system which is deeply tied to Windows (you either know or don’t, no matter).

Back to Endless

Endless is a US company, a nonprofit foundation since 2020 — which is aiming to bring computers, and computer literacy, to a non-geeky group of customers.

--

--

James Marinero, MSc, MBA
The Dock on the Bay

Follow me for a 2 x Top Writer diet: true stories, humour, tech, AI, travel, geopolitics and occasional fiction as I write around the world on my old boat.